Poem: Ashore

Courtesy of Brandon Sawaya. Gettyimages.com

Courtesy of Brandon Sawaya. Gettyimages.com

At the station in my mind,
I longingly wait for the train of images of
your smile and the laugh lines that contour your beautiful face
your eyes and the deep hollows of your mysterious stare.

At the station in my mind,
I pace the entire length
while the soft breeze whispers
the words of your undying love
uttered on days when I kept you in my arms.
In my mind, those days are painted like the craft of the masters.
But no longer in yours;
neither on the walls of your heart which I once held.

At the station in my mind,
I gaze at the tracks that meet the horizon
and wait for the coming of distant flickers of light.
Sometimes, I trick my eyes into seeing
that your light is shivering in the vast landscape.
Then, the rustle of fallen leaves against the concrete pavement
wake me up from the slumber of hopeless hoping
to have you back in my life.

At the station in my mind,
I linger.
Because, even if the memories of us have eroded to the recesses of your past
and you have gone elsewhere that my feet have not reached,
I have nowhere else to go
but this station where we once waited, hand in hand,
for a train that would have taken us to a new one.

Leave a Reply

