Sometimes, I wonder

Sometimes, I wonder if your face will appear amid the blurred lines, lights, and shadows.

That in the middle of all the hallucinations, a sobering image of you will be painted by the still air and smoke.

That in the middle of these countless sleepless nights, I will hear the beating of your heart and your steady breaths.

That while I lie here and let these words speak for me, your voice will come calling to tell me everything will be fine.

That while I am blanketed by the cold, whirring air, I will feel the warmth of your body as you quietly rest your head on my chest then I will pull you closer to me so I can smell your hair and lightly kiss it.

Sometimes, I wonder.
Because that is all that I can do.

Leave a Reply

